The 3rd Asia-Europe Meeting Summit (ASEM3) was held on 20-21 October 2000 in Seoul, Korea, chaired by President KIM Dae-jung of Korea. Participants included the Heads of State and Government of the 25 countries participating in the ASEM Process, and President Romano PRODI of the European Commission. The Summit was themed “Partnership for Prosperity & Stability in the New Millennium“.

The conclusions of the meeting are summarised in a Chair’s Statement, in the Asia-Europe Cooperation Framework (AECF) 2000 and in a separate Seoul Declaration for Peace on the Korean Peninsula.

ASEM3 was attended by 10 Asian (Brunei, China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Philippines, Korea, Singapore, Thailand, and Viet Nam) and 15+1 European (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the European Commission) members.

More than 4,000 people including delegates (over 1,800) and media representatives (over 2,200) participated in the meeting.